Shaunavon Lights Up

2014 Champion FWDP team photo. From left: Ross Davidson (captain), Riley Pritchard, Shawn (Shawn-Boy) Francis and Chris Williamson with their 2014 trophy saddles. This team won it all again in 2015. Photo courtesy Shaunavon Ranch Rodeo.

A lightning storm struck the Ron Winquist arena July 1, moments into the opening of the Shaunavon Ranch Rodeo.

Ten teams entered the fifth annual event, which included wild cow milking, trailer loading, branding, team doctoring and wild horse race. There was no bronc riding but there were some fun events for kids; a stick pony race and calf penning event, held during intermission.

For the third year in a row, the FWDP team of Shawn (Shawn-Boy) Francis, Chris Williamson, Ross Davidson and Riley Pritchard won, and each took home their third championship saddle.