Stampede “Cheer” List

2014 Stampede Champion Morgan Grant. Photo courtesy of Calgary Stampede.

The Calgary Stampede is an outlaw rodeo and they run by their own rules. They decide who to invite and they have a $2–million payoff. While winning the Stampede doesn’t affect a competitor’s world standings, it sure affects their bank account.

Contestants are divided into two pools. The top four money winners in each pool advance to Showdown Sunday. The remaining six competitors in each pool compete on Wild Card Saturday, and the top two in each event advance to Showdown Sunday — Rodeo’s Richest Afternoon with over $1 million paid out. The Finals is a one shot, go-for-broke perf with winners taking home the Championship and $100,000.

Last year there were 27 Canadians invited to compete, and they won three out of the six $100,000 cheques. With 120 invitations sent out for 2015, here is our annual “cheer” list of the 31 Canadians riding for the Maple Leaf:

Dustin Flundra, Pincher Creek, Alta.
Jim Berry, Rocky Mountain House, Alta.
Rylan Geiger, Bracken, Sask.
Sam Kelts, Millarville, Alta.
Zeke Thurston, Big Valley, Alta.

Jake Vold, Airdrie, Alta.
Kyle Bowers, Drayton Valley, Alta.
Luke Creasy, Brownsville, Alta.
Clint Laye, Cadogan, Alta.
Matt Lait, Cayley, Alta.
Ty Taypotat, Regina, Sask.
Dusty LaValley, Bezanson, Alta.

Dakota Buttar, Kindersley, Sask.
Scott Schiffner, Strathmore, Alta.
Chad Besplug, Claresholm, Alta.
Tyler Pankewitz, Ponoka, Alta.
Tyler Thomson, Black Diamond, Alta.

Morgan Grant, Granton, Ont.
Dean Edge, Rimbey, Alta.
Lee Rombough, Sexsmith, Alta.
Curtis Cassidy, Donalda, Alta.

Steffanie Mather, Medicine Hat, Alta.
Sydney Daines, Innisfail, Alta.
Julie Leggett, Kamloops, B.C.
Tara Muldoon, Hinton, Alta.

Tanner Milan, Cochrane, Alta.
Curtis Cassidy, Donalda, Alta.
Justin Miller, Neepawa, Man.
Clayton Moore, Pouce Coupe, B.C.
Cody Cassidy, Donalda, Alta.
Jesse Lawes, Provost, Alta.
Dustin Walker, Aneroid, Sask.