Canadian Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame

inthecorral-1506-06rriThe board of directors for the Canadian Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame is proud to announce the following inductees for 2015:

Dee Butterfield — Contestant
An 11-time CFR qualifier, and one-time NFR Qualifier, Butterfield is also the 1992 Canadian Barrel Racing Champion. Butterfield has over 40 years of experience as a barrel racing and horsemanship clinician.

Greg Cassidy — Contestant
A four-time Canadian Champion Steer Wrestler and the 1987 and 1988 Canadian High Point Champion, Cassidy has continued to be involved in the sport as a hazer.

Harris Dvorkin — Builder
Owner of the Ranchman’s Cookhouse and Dancehall Inc. in Calgary, Harris Dvorkin has been a friend of cowboys for over 40 years. A former member of the Calgary Stampede Rodeo Committee, Dvorkin created the Ranchman’s Renegades Charity Bull Bustin’, which has now taken place in the parking lot behind the bar for 16 years, acting as an unofficial kick-off to the Stampede.

Jim Freeman — Contestant
A multi-event cowboy, Jim Freeman was crowned the Canadian Bull Riding Champion at the first Canadian Finals Rodeo in 1974. Freeman became a judge in 1984 and continued his involvement in the sport instructing schools, and as the Olds College Rodeo Coach for 18 years.

Pearl Mandeville — Builder
Pearl Mandeville helped improve rodeo’s image by arranging visits to the Alberta Children’s Hospital with champion cowboys, and acting as the promotional director for the inaugural year of High School Rodeo in Alberta. Her ongoing contribution to rodeo was the creation of the Canadian Rodeo News in 1964.

Junior — Animal
This tie down roping horse owned by Jim “Bearman” Campbell was ridden by all of the greats to numerous titles — including two Canadian championships in the 1970s. Bearman hauled Junior everywhere in his one-horse inline trailer.

The 2015 Canadian Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame Induction Banquet takes place October 17, 2015, at the Coast Plaza Hotel in Calgary. New this year is a poker tournament on Friday evening featuring this year’s inductees. All proceeds will benefit the Hall of Fame.