Day 5 – 2011 Battle of the North Championship – Dawson Creek, BC


August 14, 2011 – 

The 2011 Battle of the North Championship wrapped up on a beautiful Sunday evening in Dawson Creek, B.C., and Rick Fraser, driving the Hellfires Supression Services outfit, and along with outriders Logan James and Chanse Vigen, captured the championship, a new Dodge truck, and the Cascade Services $10,000.00 first place prize. It was the first time that Rick Fraser won the Dawson Creek title and his second victory of the season after capturing the Grande Prairie Stompede to start the year.

Fraser won the sudden death final with a penalty free run of 1:17.11 from barrel position number 2, 38 one-hundreds of a second faster than Kelly Sutherland who placed 2nd from barrel position number 1. Chad Harden placed 3rd from barrel position number 3, with Hugh Sinclair finishing 4th after not being able to complete the race. Sinclair was tossed from his wagon at the start of the race and was transported to hospital with undetermined injuries. Outrider Doug Thomson was also involved in the mishap but escaped with just minor injuries. No horses were hurt in the mishap. Earlier in the night Evan Salmond received the Kenn Borek Memorial Award for Most Sportsmanlike Driver.

As far as the day results go, Rick Fraser’s 1:17.11 was also good for day money, followed by Kelly Sutherland, Kirk Sutherland, Mark Sutherland and Luke Tournier rounding out the top five on the final night.

The WPCA Dodge Pro Tour now moves onto Rocky Mountain House for the Battle of the Rockies Championship starting Thursday, August 18 and running through to Sunday, August 21. Live radio coverage of the Battle of the Rockies from Rocky Mountain House, Alberta can be heard starting at 6:45pm Thursday through Saturday and Sunday starting at 1:45pm on Classic Country AM1060 out of Calgary, 890AM CJDC out of Dawson Creek and 99.7 FM The Wolf out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville

For more, click here
Hellfires Suppression Services
Rick Fraser – Driver
Logan James, Chanse Vigen – Outriders
Sudden Death Championship Final Heat For The 2010 Battle of the North Championship (By Barrel Selection)
1 Kelly Sutherland Knelsen Rock Products Ltd. 
2 Rick Fraser Hellfires Suppression Services 
3 Chad Harden Streeper and Sons/encana/Hardcastle Developments
4 Hugh Sinclair Sinclair Racing/Poseidon Concepts/Specialized Tech
Kenn Borek Memorial Award (Most Sportsmanlike Driver) 
Evan Salmond 
Day 5 Results
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Rick Fraser Hellfires Suppression Services 1:17.11
2 Kelly Sutherland Knelsen Rock Products Ltd. 1:17.49
3 Kirk Sutherland EMCO Corporation 1:17.50
4 Mark Sutherland Pomeroy Inn & Suites 1:17.55
5 Luke Tournier J & L Supply Co. Ltd. 1:17.88
6 Colt Cosgrave Ron May Consulting  1:18.26
7 Troy Dorchester DGS Astro Paving 1:18.26
8 Layne MacGilIivray WN Oilfield 1:18.38
9 Jerry Bremner Tiggo Transport Ltd. 1:18.40
10 Barry Hodgson GD Cornish Trucking Ltd. 1:18.59