Day 4 – 2011 Battle of the North Championship – Dawson Creek, BC


August 13, 2011 –  
It was the fourth perfect night in Dawson Creek, British Columbia for 2011 Battle of the North Championship, and the final four have been set for Sunday’s sudden death championship final heat where the winner will take home the 2011 Battle of the North Championship, a $10,000.00 bonus cheque and a 2011 Dodge Truck.

Five-time Battle of the North champion Kelly Sutherland was tops in aggregate with a four-day combined time of 5:06.07, and will be joined by Rick Fraser, Hugh Sinclair and Chad Harden in Sunday’s winner take all final. Colt Cosgrave finished in 5th place overall and just missed the sudden death final by 55 one-hundreds of a second. Sophomore driver Evan Salmond, looking to qualify for his first career sudden death final, took a 2-second penalty and was knocked out of the top four.

As far as the day results go, it was Colt Cosgrave who took top money with the best time of the week with a 1:14.96. Coming off barrel number 4 in heat 7, Cosgrave, driving the Ron May Consulting outfit had the fast time of the week and placed first on the day by just 8 one-hundreds of a second over Kelly Sutherland who placed 2nd on the night. Doug Irvine, Kirk Sutherland and Grant Profit filled out the top 5 for the night.

Racing from the Battle of the North in Dawson Creek can be heard live every night starting at 7:00pm (MST) on Classic Country AM1060 out of Calgary, 890AM CJDC out of Dawson Creek and 99.7 FM The Wolf out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville

For more, click here

Sudden Death Championship Final Heat For The 2010 Battle of the North Championship (By Qualification Order)
1 Kelly Sutherland Knelsen Rock Products Ltd. 
2 Rick Fraser Hellfires Suppression Services 
3 Hugh Sinclair Sinclair Racing/Poseidon Concepts/Specialized Tech
4 Chad Harden Streeper and Sons/encana/Hardcastle Developments
Day 4 Results
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Colt Cosgrave Ron May Consulting  1:14.96
2 Kelly Sutherland Knelsen Rock Products Ltd. 1:15.04
3 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. 1:15.46
4 Grant Profit Ja-Co Welding & Consulting Ltd. 1:16.09
5 Kirk Sutherland EMCO Corporation 1:16.11
6 Chad Harden Streeper and Sons Trucking Ltd. 1:16.25
7 Cliff Cunningham Basnett Truck Service 1:16.32
8 Rick Fraser Hellfires Suppression Services 1:16.50
9 Jason Johnstone Michalchuk Bros. L Contractors Ltd. 1:16.74
10 Darcy Flad Longhorn Oilfield Services/Little Valley Holdings 1:17.01