Day 2 – 2011 Battle of the North Championship – Dawson Creek, BC


August 11

Night 2 of the Battle of the North Championship in Dawson Creek, British Columbia was a beautiful 23°C under partly cloudy skies and excellent racetrack conditions. When the night wrapped up, 2004 Battle of the North champion Reg Johnstone posted the fast time of the night with a run of 1:16.36.

Coming off barrel number 2 in heat number 5, Johnstone, driving the Happy Trails RV outfit won the day money by 18 one-hundreds of a second over Troy Dorchester ended up in 2nd place on the night. Rick Fraser, Evan Salmond and Colt Cosgrave rounded out the top 5 for the night.

After two runs, sophomore driver Evan Salmond, driving the Phoenix Oilfield Rentals Ltd. Outfit leads the overall standings with a 2-day combined time of 2:33.56. He leads by just 10 one-hundreds of a second over Rick Fraser, with Mark Sutherland and Obrey Motowylo making out the top four after 2 nights. Day 1 winner Chad Harden dropped to 5th place overall just 11 one-hundreds of a second outside the ever important top four.

The Battle of the North is part of the Ram Cup Series where the top 4 drivers in the aggregate after Saturday’s run will go into the sudden death championship final heat. The winner of the sudden death final will take home a 2011 Dodge truck, a $10,000.00 bonus cheque, and the 2011 Battle of the North Championship.

Racing from the Battle of the North in Dawson Creek can be heard live every night starting at 7:00pm (MST) on Classic Country AM1060 out of Calgary, 890AM CJDC out of Dawson Creek and 99.7 FM The Wolf out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville

For more, click here
Day 2 Results
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Reg Johnstone Happy Trails RV 1:16.36
2 Troy Dorchester DGS Astro Paving 1:16.54
3 Rick Fraser Hellfires Suppression Services 1:16.64
4 Evan Salmond Phoenix Oilfield Rentals Ltd. 1:16.67
5 Colt Cosgrave Ron May Consulting  1:16.74
6 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. 1:16.78
7 Kelly Sutherland Knelsen Rock Products Ltd. 1:16.81
8 Tim Haroldson Cascade Energy Services LP 1:16.92
9 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd. 1:16.93
10 Mark Sutherland Pomeroy Inn & Suites 1:16.99