CPRA Year End Award Winners


Canadian Professional Rodeo Association Year-End Award Winners Announced

AIRDRIE, AB – For the first time in the history of the Canadian Professional Rodeo Association (CPRA), the Tie-Down Roping Horse of the Year and Steer Wrestling Horse of the Year awards will be awarded to horses from the same herd. Curtis Cassidy’s 13-year-old gelding Stick has been named the Canadian Tie-Down Roping Horse of the Year for 2010, while Deuce, a 10-year-old gelding also owned by the Canadian High Point leader, was voted Canadian Steer Wrestling Horse of the Year.
“Yes, those are my horses,” Cassidy beamed with pride.
“Any time you have a horse that’s voted horse of the year, it’s prestigious and nice,” he added with a smile.
“I think part of the reason they won is I do mount quite a few guys on Deuce and on Stick, and the guys, when they vote, kind of use that as a judgment at the end of the year,” he noted. “They both had lots of runs, went to lots of rodeos on both sides of the border. I was just glad one of them won, and then when they both won it was really good to hear,” he grinned.
Other winners of the 2010 Timed Event Horse of the Year awards include Rana Koopmans’ barrel horse Doc, who was voted Ladies Barrel Racing Horse with the Most Heart, Shadow, owned by Dale Skocdopole, as the Team Roping Heading Horse of the Year, and Ice, owned by Scott Auclair, as the Team Roping Heeling Horse of the Year.
The CPRA is also pleased to announce the 2010 award winners for Stock of the Year, the years’ top stock contractor, as well as the Specialty Acts and Announcer of the Year.
Harvey Northcott Rodeo Co.’s 242 Get Smart has been named the Canadian Saddle Bronc Horse of the Year. The eight-year-old bay gelding – an offspring of the infamous Wyatt Earp – was voted Saddle Bronc Horse of the CFR in 2009, and will be making his third consecutive appearance at the 37th annual Canadian Finals Rodeo (CFR) this November.
Outlawbuckers Rodeo Corp.’s M22 OLS Tubs Ross River, in his rookie year, picks up the Canadian Bareback Horse of the Year award.
The black brockle-faced bull C-301 Speed Dial, from the Calgary Stampede’s stock contracting firm, was voted the 2010 Canadian Bull of the Year for the second year in a row.
Harvey Northcott Rodeo Co. was named Stock Contractor of the Year, less than a month after the passing of owner Harvey Northcott.

Awards: the Specialty Act of the Year award has been split into two separate categories, one each for comedy and dress act. The Specialty Act of the Year (Comedy) award goes to Ash Cooper of Senlac, Sask., while the award for Specialty Act of the Year (Dress) goes to trick rider Niki Cammaert. The Announcer of the Year award goes to six-time CFR announcer Les McIntyre of Claresholm, Alta., who also won the award in 2009.

 The Ponoka Stampede was voted as the Committee of the Year (large rodeos) for the fourth time since 2001. The award for smaller rodeos goes to the La Crete committee for the second year in a row, while Lea Park, Alta. earned the Committee of the Year award for a medium sized rodeo for the first time. 
The barrel racers also acknowledged Lea Park with their most improved ground award, and the Coleman, Alta. (best small) and La Crete, Alta. (best large) committees with the Golden Rake awards for the best ground.
The awards will be presented at The Westin Hotel in Edmonton, Alta. on Thursday, November 11 at 3:00 p.m.

Also announced are the personnel for the Finals.

Heading to the CFR are pick-up men Gary Rempel, making his record-breaking 13th appearance at the Finals, and Jason Resch, who makes his fourth consecutive appearance.
Bullfighters David Sandilands and Jesse Byrne will be in the arena protecting the cowboys during the bull riding performances. Byrne’s cousin, Scott Byrne, is the alternate.
Maxine Baird will make her 22nd appearance as a CFR timer. She will be paired with Brenda Vold, who makes her sixth consecutive appearance.

 – Courtesy of Canadian Professional Rodeo Association