FCA Champions

2015 Foothills Cowboys Association Champions; back row (left to right) Gunner Fuchs-Junior Bulls, Keenan Reinhardt-Saddle Bronc, Clay Deley-Rookie Of the Year, Justin Myers-Bareback, Shane Smith-Tie-Down Roping, Mace Perozak and Jared Pancoast-Team Roping. Front Row: Cauy Lawes-Steer Riding, Taylor Shields-Barrel Racing. Missing from photo: Kole Ashbacher-Novice Horse, Alexi Osborne-Junior Barrels, Armondo Devilla-Bull Riding, Brendan Laye-Steer Wrestling/All Round Cowboy. Pee Wee Barrel Champion Harleigh Henderson and Breakaway Champion Quinn Leslie. Photo by Slade Rogers.

Congratulations to the Foothills Cowboys Association (FCA) on their 60th Anniversary Cowboy Classic Finals held Oct 9-11 at Westerner Park in Red Deer, Alta. The total payout topped $100,000.

Double winners were the rule of the day in the rough stock awards. Richards Rodeo won both awards for their bareback horse, Sunday Stepper, who earned Bareback Horse of the Year and Bareback Horse of the Finals. Wilson-Yule Rodeo earned both Saddle Bronc of the Year (Shiner) and Bull of the Year (Hippy Freak). John Duffy Rodeo also won big with Saddle Bronc of the Finals (Bootilear) and Bull of the Finals (Little Aylmer).

Calf Horse of the Year went to Dallas McDougall’s GMan; Steer Wrestling Horse of the Year is Banjo, owned by Rudy Nieborg; Hazing Horse of the Year is Boston owned by Mark Hebbie, ridden by Justin Heggie, and Junior Barrel Racing Horse of the Year went to Shorty, owned by Kipty Terry.

The 2015 FCA Awards included Committee of the Year: Didsbury Ag Fair & Rodeo; Family of the Year: Dallas McDougall Family; Volunteers/Year: Robbie Elliott; Cowgirl/Year: Vicki Camirand. One of the great moments of the Finals was the announcement that the 2015 FCA Cowboy of the Year is Eileen Northcott. Eileen, the widow of rodeo stock contractor Harvey Northcott, has attended all 60 of the FCA Finals.