Royal Race

2012 Williams Lake Stampede Pricess Terris Billyboy (on white horse) in the lead. In the yellow vest and helmet is 2006 Williams Lake Stampede Princess Kaitlyn Dorian. Photo by Liz Twan.

Williams Lake Stampede has always been known for racing, and 2014 saw the start of a new competition, the Wild Cowgirl Race. The contestants start on the backside of the track and race to the finish line in front of the grandstand.

This year it was a Royal race with three past rodeo queens and princesses racing all three days. 2012 Williams Lake Stampede Princess, Terris Billyboy, 2006 Williams Lake Stampede Princess, Kaitlyn Dorian and 2006 Williams Lake Stampede Queen, Amanda Berkelaar.

The three past-royals entered the race each day. How popular was it? On Sunday, there were so many entries organizers held two heats.

Congratulations to the winners of the inaugural Wild Cowgirl Race; Overall Champion, Kaitlyn Dorrian, second place went to Terris Billyboy.