Top Hand at the Big Show: 2013 Ranahan Award

From left; Shawn Francis is presented with the
Ranahan Award from Paul Pidde, Chairman of
the Calgary Stampede Rodeo Committee. It was
presented to Shawn at Stampede Park at the
rodeo committee tent area during a supper on
the Thursday night before Stampede kick off.

Congratulations to Shawn (Shawn Boy) Francis of Regina, Sask., who received the 2013 Ranahan Award from the Calgary Stampede Rodeo Committee. The award, presented by the CS Rodeo committee is given annually “[t]o an individual at the top of their game and an integral part of the action who exemplifies the true meaning of a top hand or good all around cowboy.”

Shawn’s name joins previous recipients of this behind-the-scenes prestigious honour, including 2004 Cookie (Albert) Taubert; 2005 Grant Veno; 2006 Stan Weatherly; 2007 Marvin Kinsman; 2008 Mike Whittle; 2009 Shirley Simpson; 2010 Bill Tidball; 2011 Ted Westerson and 2012 Betty and Don Melvin.