Grande Prairie Stompede Chuckwagon Results


May 27, 2012 –  More Information Available at

2012 Grande Prairie Stompede – Grande Prairie, AB

Track conditions were fantastic and the finals of the 35th running of the Grande Prairie Stompede Championship were run under a few clouds and a very warm 23°C. The sudden death final featured Jerry Bremner, Jason Glass, Kurt Bensmiller and Gary Gorst. When the dust settled, it was Jason Glass, driving the Birchcliff Energy Ltd. outfit, and along with outriders Chad Fike and Chance Flad that drove off in a new GMC Truck, a new Jayco Toy Hauler, a $20,000.00 winners cheque and the 2012 Grande Prairie Stompede Championship.

In the first leg of the newly created Sierra Cup Series and coming off barrel number 1, Glass won his second career Grande Prairie Championship with a penalty free run of 1:17.12, 1.06 seconds faster than Gary Gorst who placed second in the heat from barrel number three. Aggregate winner Jerry Bremner, who crossed the finish line second to Jason Glass was assessed a one second penalty for creating a false start and ended up in third place overall from barrel 4, while Kurt Bensmiller filled out the field in fourth place in the heat from barrel position number two.

As far as the day results are concerned, Hugh Sinclair posted the fast time of the race meet with a blistering 1:15.86 from barrel number 4 in heat two. Cliff Cunningham was second overall for the night running in  that same heat number two, while Troy Dorchester, Tim Haroldson and Reg Johnstone filled out the top five runs of the night. All nine heats on Sunday were dash for cash situations.

The WPCA GMC Pro Tour will now take a break for 1 weekend before embarking on Medicine Hat, Alberta from June 7-10, 2012 for the running of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede.

Live coverage of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede can be heard starting on Thursday, June 7 at 6:45pm on Classic Country AM1060 out of Calgary, 890AM CJDC out of Dawson Creek and 99.7 FM The Wolf out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville


Birchcliff Energy Ltd.
Jason Glass – Driver
Chad Fike, Chance Flad – Outriders
Sudden Death Championship Final Heat (By Barrel Draw)  
1 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd.  
2 Kurt Bensmiller Eco Fuel Saver  
3 Gary Gorst Scooter’s Transfer Ltd.  
4 Jerry Bremner Tiggo Transport Ltd.  
Ralph Vigen Memorial Award Winner (Top Aggregate Time On First 4 Nights):
Jerry Bremner – Tiggo Transport Ltd. – 5:19.43  
Day 5 Results
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Hugh Sinclair Friends of Sinclair Racing 1:15.86
2 Cliff Cunningham Regulator’s Oilfield Hauling Ltd. 1:16.31
3 Troy Dorchester LaFarge Canada Ltd. 1:16.78
4 Tim Haroldson All Peace Petroleum 1:16.79
5 Reg Johnstone H & M Meats 1:16.93
6 Kirk Sutherland EMCO Corporation 1:17.05
7 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd. 1:17.12
8 Logan Gorst Bonnett’s Energy Corp. 1:17.25
9 Chad Harden Image Distributors 1:17.46
10 John Walters Drifters Casing Service 1:17.46
11 Grant Profit Ja-Co Welding & Consulting Ltd. 1:17.70
12 Rae Croteau Jr. TOMCO Group of Companies 1:17.74
13 Mitch Sutherland Pipestone Carriers Inc. 1:17.80
14 Layne MacGilIivray ATB Financial 1:17.96
16 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. 1:18.10
17 Gary Gorst Scooter’s Transfer Ltd. 1:18.18
18 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. 1:18.39
19 Rick Fraser Northwell Oilfield Hauling/Hellfire Supp. Services 1:18.43
20 Jason Johnstone Horizon Hauling 1:18.45
21 Dave Galloway CSI Canada Safety 1:18.48
22 Troy Flad Ironwood Building Systems 1:18.59
23 Jerry Bremner Tiggo Transport Ltd. 1:18.69
24 Darcy Flad Spur’s Cookhouse & Dance Hall 1:18.93
25 Jordie Fike Eagle Builders LP 1:18.93
26 Barry Hodgson Roadtrek 1:18.99
27 Kurt Bensmiller Eco Fuel Saver 1:18.99
28 Codey McCurrach Enerplus 1:19.30
29 Cody Ridsdale Triple K Oilfield Services 1:19.44
30 Kelly Sutherland Tervita 1:19.82
31 Chanse Vigen Cinch Oilfield Hauling Ltd. 1:20.07
15 Mark Sutherland Pomeroy Inn & Suites 1:20.08
32 Evan Salmond Phoenix Oilfield Rentals Ltd. 1:20.15
33 Luke Tournier Happy Trails RV 1:23.41
34 Mike Vigen Zedcor 1:24.30
35 Colt Cosgrave Keddies Tack & Western Wear 1:30.34
36 Roger Moore Ensign Rockwell N.T