New Awards for Canadian Horses and Breeders

Two new national awards to honour the accomplishments of successful sport horses and their breeders have been introduced by Equine Canada.


The Canadian-bred Horse of the Year award will be presented to the breeder or owner of a horse who has raised the profile of Canadian-bred horses with exceptional competition results. To be eligible, the horse must be foaled in Canada and registered with any of Equine Canada’s member breed associations.

The award is also eligible to an outstanding sire whose offspring have accumulated national and international victories.

The Breeder of the Year award will recognize a Canadian breeder for their contribution to the quality of Canadian-bred horses. Nominees must be members of an Equine Canada breed association.

These new national awards are in addition to Equine Canada’s annual awards which are

  • Equestrian of the Year – The Doctor George Jacobsen Trophy
  • Junior Equestrian of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy
  • Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy
  • Volunteer of the Year, Presented by BFL Canada
  • Equine Canada / Just Add Horses Environment Award

The deadline for these two new awards is December 16, 2011. The nomination deadline for the remaining national awards is November 25, 2011.

It is important to nominate those you feel are worthy of such recognition. The winners of these prestigious awards will be honoured as part of the Equine Canada Annual Awards Gala which will be held at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in St. John’s on Friday, February 3, 2012 as part of the Equine Canada Annual Convention.

Source: Horse Talk