Calgary Stampede honours Western Legacy winners

Calgary – The Calgary Stampede’s Western Legacy Awards recognize the achievements of individuals and organizations that help to build and strengthen communities while preserving western heritage and values.  The seventh annual Western Legacy Awards will be held on Friday, October 21.

The awards will also celebrate the launch of “The First Stampede of Florence LaDue” by Wendy Bryden and inspired by Lenore McLean, a novel which tells the tale of Florence LaDue, wife of the legendary Guy Weadick.  We are honoured to have both Bryden and McLean as this year’s keynote speakers.

The Western Legacy Awards are presented in four categories: Sustained Contribution – individual and group, Innovation and Youth. Winners of the Sustained Contribution category exhibit extraordinary community support over a number of years while the award for Innovation recognizes a person or group that has created a single visionary project that speaks to western values.  The Youth category is open to young people under 25 years of age and recognizes youth who have demonstrated their commitment to making a difference.


WHAT: Seventh Annual Western Legacy Awards

WHEN: Lunch11 a.m. – 11:55 a.m.

Presentation – 12 p.m.

Friday, October 21, 2011 

WHERE: Palomino Room, BMO Centre

Calgary Stampede Park


The Calgary Stampede Western Legacy Awards were established in 2005 to honour community members who exemplify western heritage and values.